ice hockey

Hockey is a sport that can be played at different levels. You can play hockey at a recreational level, or you can play at a competitive level like pro hockey player, Jacob Panetta. There are different expectations for each level of play. Keep reading to learn more about the different levels of hockey and what to expect.

Youth Hockey


Youth Hockey is typically for kids ages 4-14 and is meant to teach basic skills and teamwork. There are typically no fights or bodychecking in youth hockey. The games are also shorter, with three 15-minute periods being standard. Hockey is a great way for kids to stay active and healthy. Hockey is also a great way for kids to learn teamwork and cooperation. Moreover, playing hockey can also help kids develop important life skills, such as discipline and focus.

Junior Hockey

There are many levels of hockey, from youth leagues to the NHL. The different levels of hockey offer different experiences and varying degrees of competitiveness.

Hockey is generally divided into three levels: minor, junior, and professional. Youth leagues, such as Little League or Pee Wee, are typically for children aged 4 to 18. In the United States, there are several youth leagues sanctioned by USA Hockey, including the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU), the girls-only Girls Hockey East (GHE), and the Continental Amateur Hockey Association (CAHA).

Junior hockey is for players aged 16 to 21. There are several junior leagues in North America, including the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) and the United States Hockey League (USHL). The CHL is a league made up of teams in Canada and has three tiers: Major Junior A, Major Junior B, and Tier II Junior A. The USHL is a league made up of teams in the United States and has two tiers: Tier I Junior A and Tier II Junior A.

Professional hockey is for players who are 22 years old or older. The National Hockey League (NHL) is the top professional league in North America and consists of 31 teams: 24 in the United States and 7 in Canada. There are also several minor pro leagues in North America, such as the American Hockey League (AHL) and ECHL.

Minor League Hockey


Minor league hockey is a step below the National Hockey League (NHL) in the United States and Canada. There are three levels of minor league hockey in these countries: the American Hockey League (AHL), the ECHL, and the Central Hockey League (CHL). The AHL is the top level of minor league hockey, followed by the ECHL, and then the CHL.

The AHL consists of 30 teams, while the ECHL has 24 teams. The CHL has 10 teams. The majority of players in minor league hockey are between 18 and 22 years old. Players at this level are trying to work their way up to playing in the NHL.

The main difference between playing in the AHL and playing in lower-level leagues is that players in the AHL are paid more money. In addition, players in higher-level leagues have a better chance of being called up to play in the NHL.

Professional Hockeyimg

There are several levels of hockey, with the NHL being the top level. Below the NHL is a series of minor leagues, each one representing a different stage of development for young players.

The NHL is made up of 30 teams, 24 in the United States and 6 in Canada. The league was founded in 1917 as the National Hockey League and has been known as the NHL since 1942. It is the largest professional ice hockey league in the world and features many of the best players in the world.

By Manali